Wednesday, May 29, 2024 | 17:53 WIB

House Speaker: Each Ministry to partner with a house committee


IO, Jakarta – The Speaker of the House of Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat – “DPR”), Puan Maharani, has declared that she will be simplifying the relationship between State Ministries and the Parliamentary Committees in the 2019-2024 term by partnering each Ministry with one Committee. This decision has been made in the DPR Consultative meeting in lieu of a Deliberative Committee (Badan Musyawarah – “Bamus”) attended by the leadership of DPR and all Faction Leaders in the Parliamentary Complex, Jakarta, on Monday (28/10/2019). Puan hopes that this “One Committee, One Ministry” policy can help DPR optimize its monitoring function. “With this ‘One Ministry, One Committee’ policy, we hope that the Committees can better monitor the Ministries’ work,” she said.

This simplification is a response to the mechanism from the previous period, wherein the Ministry of Environment and Forestry partnered with Committees IV and VII. Puan stated that cooperation with two DPR Committee partners is ineffective, and coordination among the relevant groups was not optimal, as they tended to toss work back and forth to each other. In other words, a lot of energy and time is wasted on getting coordinated. “In this term, Ministry of Environment and Forestry issues will only be discussed within Committee IV,” she said.

DPR has confirmed that it will have 11 Committees, each having one Chairman and 4 Deputies. Other DPR’s Counsels (Alat Kelengkapan Dewan – “AKD”) include the Deliberation Board with 58 members, the Legislative Committee (Badan Legislatif – “Baleg” with 80 members, the Budget Committee (Badan Anggaran – “Banggar”) with 100 members, the State Finance Accountability Committee (Badan Akuntabilitas Keuangan Negara – “BAKN”) with 9 members, Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation Committee (Badan Kerja Sama Antar-Parlemen – “BKSAP”) with 53 members, Ethics Committee (Majelis Kehormatan Dewan – “MKD”) with 17 members, Household Committee (Badan Urusan Rumah Tangga – “BURT”) with 25 members, and Ad Hoc Committees (Panitia Khusus – “PK”) with 30 members. The biggest composition of AKD Leadership for the factions is held by the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (Partai Demokrasi Indonesia Perjuangan – “PDIP”) with 4 chairmen and 11 Deputy Chairmen, with the United Development Party (Partai Persatuan Pem­bangunan – “PPP”) at the bottom without any leadership seats.

The number and composition of DPR RI Members in the AKD DPR RI from each faction is in line with the provisions of Article 22 of DPR RI Regulation Number 2 of 2018 concerning the Third Amendment to DPR RI Regulation Number 1 of 2014 concerning Rules and Regulations. This AKD membership number and faction composition is determined according to the principles of deliberations for consensus, and proportional according to the number of members possessed by each faction. “Each Committee has 48 to 56 members. The PDIP Faction has 11 or 12 members in each Committee. The Functional Group (Golongan Karya – “Golkar”) Faction and the Great Indonesia Movement (Gerakan Indonesia Raya – “Gerindra”) Faction members each has 7 or 8 members in each Committee. The National Democrat (“Nasdem”) Faction, the Democrat Faction, and National Awakening Party (Partai Kebangkitan Bangsa – “PKB”) Faction each has 5 or 6 members in each Committee, the Prosperous Justice Party (Partai Keadilan Sejahtera – “PKS”) Faction has 4 or 5 members in each Committee, the National Mandate Party (Partai Amanat Nasional – “PAN”) Faction has 4 members in each Com­mittee, and PPP Faction has 2 members in each committee,” she said.

The PDIP has the most AKD seats, i.e. 3 Committee Chairman seats, the Banggar Chairman seat, and 11 Vice Chairman seats. Golkar is next with 3 Committee Chairman seats and 10 Deputy Chairman seats. Meanwhile, Gerindra Party, Democrat Party, PKS, and PPP all lack Committee Chairman seats.

The following is the organization of the DPR 2019-2024 AKDs, with explanation of the fields attended to by each Committee (reference to DPR in 2014-2019 term):

1.    PDIP Faction

  • Chairman of Committee III in charge of law, human rights, and security
  • Chairman of Commttee IV in charge of agriculture, forestry, maritime and fishery issues, and food
  • Chairman of Committee V in charge of infrastructure, transportation, underdeveloped regions, and transmigration
  • Chairman of the Budget Committee (Banggar)
  • 11 Deputy Chairmen

2.    Golkar Party Faction

  • Chairman of Commisttee I in charge of defense, foreign affairs, communication and informatics, intelligence
  • Chairman of Committee II, in charge of home government and regional autonomy, state apparatus and bureaucratic reforms, elections, land issues, and agrarian reforms
  • Chairman of Committee XI in charge of finance and banking
  • 10 Deputy Chairmen

3.    Gerindra Party Faction

  • Chairman of the Legislative Committee
  • Chairman of the Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation Committee (BKSAP)
  • 9 Deputy Chairmen

4.    Nasdem Party Faction

  • Chairman of Commission VII in charge of energy, research and technology, and the environment
  • Chairman of Commission IX in charge of health, labor, and demographics
  • 8 Vice Chairmen

5.    National Awakening Party Faction

  • Chairman of Commission VI in charge of industry, trade, cooperatives, small and medium-sized businesses, State-owned Enterprises, investments, and national standards
  • Chairman of Commission X in charge of education, sports, and history
  • 7 Vice Chairmen

6.    Democrat Party Faction

  • Chairman of the Household Committee (BURT)
  • Chairman State Finance Accountability Committee (BAKN)
  • 4 Vice Chairmen

7.    Prosperous Justice Party Faction

  • Chairman of the Ethics Committee
  • 6 Commission Vice Chairmen

8.    National Mandate Party Faction

  • Chairman of Commission VIII in charge of religion, social issues, empowerment of women and child protection, disasters, hajj issues
  • 5 Commission Vice Chairmen

9.    United Development Party Faction

  • 4 Vice Chairmen



Latest article

Related Articles