Anwar Ibrahim sworn in as Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister

Anwar Ibrahim sworn in as Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister
(Source: ig anwaribrahim_my)

Jakarta, IO – Anwar Ibrahim has officially become the new Prime Minister of Malaysia. He was appointed by Malaysia’s King Al-Sultan Abdullah after the monarch held a special meeting with fellow rulers from the nine states, reported Merdeka, Thursday (24/11). Anwar was sworn in at 5 p.m. local time.

Anwar Ibrahim’s coalition Pakatan Harapan managed to secure the 112 seats needed to form a government. His coalition garnered the most seats (82) in Malaysia’s 15th general election, while rival coalition Perikatan Nasional, led by former PM Muhyiddin Yassin, won 73.

Read: Defense Minister Prabowo gives 1,000 aid packages for quake victims

The election resulted in a hung parliament, as neither of the main coalitions managed to achieve a majority. This prompted the King to summon the Conference of Rulers to break the political deadlock. Anwar was finally named Malaysia’s Prime Minister after decades of waiting. (un)