Wednesday, May 29, 2024 | 21:40 WIB

10th Indonesian earning the BWF Hall of Fame Award


Jakarta, IO – Liliyana “Butet” Natsir is one of those athletes worthy of being called a “legend” in Indonesia: she won four world titles and the gold in the 2016 Rio Olympics. Only the best and toughest can do something like that. Therefore, it is no surprise to us all that the Badminton World Federation (“BWF”) granted her the Hall of Fame Award on Saturday, 18 June at the Gelora Bung Karno Sports Hall, Senayan, Jakarta right before the 2022 East Ventures Indonesia Open semifinals – even though it’s the awardee herself who claimed to be surprised! 

“Three years ago, I announced my retirement right here in the Sports Hall. Yet today, I am awarded the Hall of Fame by the BWF,” Butet said. “I’m amazed and happy! I never thought that I’d have this title. I thought that Tontowi Ahmad would be sharing this award with me, but it turns out I was awarded alone. Well, I believe that he will be getting this award by himself later, as only me and Zhao Yun Lei won the BWF HoF this year.” 

The Hall of Fame Award is BWF’s individual award for globally influential, retired badminton athletes and figures. It is the Federation’s acknowledgement and respect of the awardee’s dedication and achievement throughout their career. The BWF official website notes that the Award was first granted in 1996 to four former badminton athletes and figures from the UK: S.S.C Dolby, George Alan Thomas, Betty Uber, and Herbert Scheele. 


Latest article

Related Articles