Wednesday, May 29, 2024 | 19:55 WIB

Jokowi designates 6 cities as National Strategic Zones


Jakarta, IO – President Joko Widodo has designated six urban areas — Kendal, Demak, Ungaran, Salatiga, Semarang and Purwodadi (Kedungsepur) — as national strategic zones, per Presidential Regulation (Perpres) 60/2022 on the National Strategic Zones Spatial Plan, CNN Indonesia reports on Wednesday (4/27).

The regulation stipulates that the designation of these areas aims to realize the cities as international-scale economic centers based on trade in goods and services, industry, maritime industry and maritime services, marine resources and tourism as well as creative economy.

Read: Jokowi issues Perpres to safeguard Indonesia’s sovereignty over Natuna Sea

It also regulates the spatial plan to support and drive social economic activities of the community. Article 16 (3) stipulates that the spatial plan in question is a system of residential centers and an infrastructure network.

The residential centers consist of core urban areas, the surrounding urban area and the marine growth centers while infrastructure network refers to facilities related to energy, transportation, telecommunications, water resources and urban infrastructure. (rr)


Latest article

Related Articles