Saturday, April 13, 2024 | 11:00 WIB

17 regions in East Java face drought emergency


Jakarta, IO – East Java Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBD) head Gatot Soebroto revealed that as many as 17 regencies/municipalities in East Java are experiencing drought and have issued emergency response and alert status, per CNNIndonesia, Wednesday (23/8).

The four regencies with emergency response status are Mojokerto, Pasuruan, Lumajang and Jember. As many as 13 regions are on alert status, namely Bojonegoro, Jombang, Lamongan, Ngawi, Bangkalan, Sampang, Bondowoso, Pamekasan, Sumenep, Probolinggo, Banyuwangi, Tulungagung and Batu City.

Gatot said the agency has requested the National Disaster Mitigation Agency (BNPB) to conduct weather modification. He hopes the cloud seeding can help to provide relief to the affected regions.

Read: BMKG: Everlasting Snow On Puncak Jayawijaya Has Almost Disappeared

However, said Gatot, there are a number of preconditions for weather modification can be carried out.

“We also need to coordinate with the Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) because they are the authority on weather conditions so we know whether it is the right time to do the cloud seeding,” he said. (at)


Latest article

Related Articles