Monday, June 17, 2024 | 13:59 WIB

Indonesia adds more countries into VoA list to boost tourism


Jakarta, IO – Panama, Guatemala and Macau have been added into the list of countries whose citizens can enter Indonesia via Visa on Arrival (VoA). This brings the total number of countries under this arrangement to 92, reported Kompas, Thursday (27/4).

Spokesperson for the Directorate General of Immigration Achmad Nur Saleh said in February they also added Kenya and Rwanda. According to Achmad, the addition aims to support the sustainability of the country’s tourism industry and facilitate local economic development.  Visitors who hold VoA or e-VoA can do several types of activities.

These include tourist visits, visits on government assignments, visits for business talks, visits to purchase goods, visits for meetings, and transit.

Read: Train passengers increase during Eid reverse exodus

Achmad explained that the VoA is valid for 30 days since entrance into the Indonesian territory.  The VoA can be extended once, but cannot be transferred to another type of stay permit.

“The e-VoA can be used to enter Indonesian territory for no later than 90 days after the date of issue,” said Achmad. (un)


Latest article

Related Articles