VP: Papua proliferation will enable people to have better access to public services

Vice President Ma’ruf Amin. (Source: instagram/kyai_marufamin)

Jakarta, IO – The government and the House have just ratified three bills on New Autonomous Regions (RUU DOB) in Papua at the plenary session on Thursday (30/6). This means with the addition of three new provinces — South Papua, Central Papua, and Papua Highlands — Indonesia now has 37 provinces.

Vice President Ma’ruf Amin told Antara on Friday (1/7) that the administrative region proliferation, known locally as “pemekaran wilayah,” will improve public services for the people as inter-regional coordination will be easier if they are situated closer to one another.

“The goal is to make it easier to serve the community so they can prosper. If public service is too far and between in one province, they will not be optimal,” he added.