SBY named “Father of Peace” for his role in conflict resolutions

Indonesia’s 6th president Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (SBY). (Source : Doc. Democratic Party)

Last week, the State Secretariat published six titles for retired Indonesian presidents via its official Instagram account @kemensetneg.ri. This publication is based on the initiative by Balai Kirti Presidential Museum to familiarize the public with the major contribution and achievement of each former president.

Sukarno, Indonesia’s first president is nicknamed “Father of the Proclamation of Independence.” His successor Suharto is better known as the “Father of Development.” Third president BJ Habibie is conferred the title “Father of Technology.”

Meanwhile, fourth president Abdurrahman “Gus Dur” Wahid is honored as the “Father of Pluralism.” Fifth president Megawati Soekarnoputri is designated “Mother of the Upholding of Constitution.” And last but not least, President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono as the “Father of Peace.” (rr)