Wednesday, February 28, 2024 | 07:25 WIB

Kemendikbudristek to revitalize 5 vernacular languages in NTT


Jakarta, IO – The Education, Culture, Research and Technology Ministry (Kemendikbudristek) announced that five local languages in the province of East Nusa Tenggara (NTT) are included in the regional language revitalization program in 2022.

The ministry’s Center for Language and Literature Development head M Abdul Khak said the five languages are Dawan, Manggarai, Kambera, Rote, and Abui.

Khak said the five languages are categorized as languages that are in decline, facing extinction and are in critical condition.

In fact, continued Khak, NTT is the third province with the largest number of local languages in Indonesia. Of the 718 local languages in Indonesia, 72 of them are from NTT.

“This revitalization is an effort to prevent local languages from becoming extinct, and these linguistic treasures can still be known and used by the next generation,” Khak told CNN Indonesia on Wednesday (29/6).


Latest article

Related Articles