Indonesia to have three new provinces in Papua

Map of Indonesia’s newest provinces. (Source: Fajar co)

Jakarta, IO – The House Legislation Body (Baleg) has officially ratified the bill for three new provinces in Papua — South Papua, Central Papua, and Central Highlands — in a plenary session on Wednesday (6/4).

The three new provinces will be made up of more than a dozen of regencies in the easternmost province.

Read: Vice President urges the West Papuan People’s Assembly to disseminate government policies

South Papua Province with its capital Merauke will cover the regencies of Merauke, Mappi, Asmat and Boven Digoel.

Central Papua with its capital Timika will cover the regencies of Paniai, Mimika, Dogiyai, Deyiai, Intan Jaya, Puncak, Puncak Jaya and Nabire.