Thursday, July 25, 2024 | 18:39 WIB

BWF World Championship 2023: 10 Indonesian players still in the game


Jakarta, IO – As many as 10 Indonesian badminton players made it to day three of the 2023 BWF World Championships at the Royal Arena Copenhagen, Denmark.

The Garuda Squad formation include Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto (men’s doubles), Gregoria Mariska Tunjung (women’s singles), Rehan Naufal Kusharjanto/ Lisa Ayu Kusumawati (mixed doubles) and Apriyani Rahayu/Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti (women’s doubles), per Antara, Wednesday (23/8).

World number one men’s doubles Fajar/Rian will meet Lee Jhe Huei/Yang Po Hsuan from Taiwan. The Indonesian pair is expected to win given they have a better tournament record than the Taiwanese pair (ranked 21st). In their four previous meetings, Fajar/Rian have also never lost to Lee/Yang. They always won in straight games.

Mixed doubles Rehan/Lisa are also expected to be victorious against German duo Jones Ralfy Jansen/Linda Efler in the first round. Today’s match will be their second meeting. Rehan/Lisa will go into game with a winning record from the inaugural match of All England 2023 in Birmingham, England, in March.

However, it is difficult to predict the outcome of the match between Gregoria versus Singapore’s unseeded Yeo Jia Minto. Even through she has 3-2 advantage on paper, Gregoria must not be complacent because her opponent won two consecutive matches in 2021.

Unfortunately, the Garuda Squad lost he men’s singles event in the round of 32, Tuesday (22/8) when Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo was defeated by Prannoy HS from India.

Read: BNPB To Conduct Weather Modification To Cleanse Jakarta’s Toxic Air

The following is the list of matches on Wednesday:

Women’s Singles

Gregoria Mariska Tunjung vs Yeo Jia Min (Singapore)

Men’s Doubles

Leo Rolly Carnando/Daniel Marthin vs Ben Lane/Sean Vendy (England)
Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto vs Lee Jhe Huei/Yang Po Hsuan (Taiwan)
Bagas Maulana/Muhammad Shohibul Fikri vs Bjarne Geiss/Jan Colin Voelker (Germany)
Hendra Setiawan/Mohammad Ahsan vs Giovanni Greco/David Salutt (Italy)

Women’s Doubles

Ribka Sugiarto/Lanny Tria Mayasari vs Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan (China)
Febriana Dwipuji Kusuma/Amalia Cahaya Pratiwi vs Margot Lambert/Anne Tran (France)
Apriyani Rahayu/Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti vs Debora Jille/Cheryl Seinen (Netherlands)

Mixed Doubles

Rehan Naufal Kusharjanto/Lisa Ayu Kusumawati vs Jones Ralfy Jansen/Linda Efler (Germany)
Rinov Rivaldy/Pitha Haningtyas Mentari vs Kyohei Yamashita/Naru Shinoya (Japan).


Terrorism in Palestine

Reverse Glass Painting Exhibition at Dia.lo.gue

Latest article

Related Articles